Skip to main content



  • Patron: Most Rev Vincent Nichols, Archbishop of Westminster
  • President: Very Rev Arturo Sosa SJ, Superior General of the Society of Jesus
  • Vice President: Rev Dr Damian Howard SJ Heythrop College, University of London
  • Director: Rev Dr Peter Gallagher SJ
  • Dean of the Philosophy Faculty:  Rev Dr Peter Gallagher SJ. Head of the Philosophy Department, Heythrop College, University of London
  • Dean of the Theology Faculty:  Rev Dr Michael Kirwan SJ, Head of the Theology Department, Heythrop College, University of London
  • Administrator: Ms Annabel Clarkson

Academic Staff

Faculty of Philosophy

Dean:  Rev Dr Peter Gallagher SJ, BA, STB,MTh, PhD


Faculty of Theology

Dean: Rev Dr Michael Kirwan SJ, BA, BD, MA, PhD


Profiles Director, Deans and Administrator

Rev Dr Damian Howard SJ STB, MA, MA, MSc, PhD

Fr Damian Howard SJ was born in Surrey, England in 1967 and was educated at Trinity School of John Whitgift in Croydon. He studied Divinity at Trinity College, Cambridge where he was a Senior Scholar. He joined the Society of Jesus in 1990, studying Philosophy at the London School of Economics and theology at the Jesuit faculties of the Centre Sèvres, Paris. He was ordained to the priesthood in July 1999. He went on to study for a Master’s in Islamic societies and cultures at the School of Oriental and African Studies of the University of London before writing a doctorate on contemporary Islamic thought at the University of Birmingham, published as a monograph in 2011 by Routledge as Being Human in Islam: The Impact of the Evolutionary Worldview. He was appointed lecturer in Theology at Heythrop in September 2010.

Rev Dr Peter Gallagher SJ BA, STB, MTh, PhD

Fr Peter Gallagher was born in Ballieston, Scotland, in 1956. He was educated at St Mary's, Whifflet and St Patrick's High School, Coatbridge. He joined the Society of Jesus in 1973.  He studied Philosophy at Heythrop College, Greek and Roman Literature at Campion Hall, Oxford and Theology at the Centre Sèvres, Paris. He did his PhD in Ancient Greek Philosophy at King's College, London.  He was ordained in 1988.  He taught Latin and Greek at St Ignatius College, Enfield and St Aloysius College, Glasgow. He began tutoring in Philosophy at Heythrop College in 1993 and has been full-time since 1995.  He teaches various parts of the History of Philosophy.  He has been Head of Department since 2005.

Rev Dr Michael Kirwan SJ BA, BD, MA, PhD

Fr Michael Kirwan was born in 1959 and educated at St Michael's College, the Jesuit college in Leeds. He studied English Language and Literature at the University of Oxford, before entering the Society of Jesus in 1980. Both Philosophy and Theology studies were completed at Heythrop College before ordination in 1990. After three years on the parish staff at Corpus Christi Church, Brixton Hill, Fr Kirwan undertook research in Systematic Theology, completing his doctorate at Heythrop in 1998. He has been on the Theology staff at the College since then; since 2005 he has been Head of the Theology Department.

Ms Annabel Clarkson

Annabel has worked at Heythrop College since 1985 in the roles of Undergraduate Admissions Officer, Secretary and Registrar, Head of External Relations and Principal’s PA. She is now additionally the Administrator of the Bellarmine Institute.